Al Golden Scholarship

The Al Golden Memorial Scholarship Fund, named after North Dakota oil pioneer and the first member of the North Dakota Petroleum Council’s Hall of Fame Al Golden, was established in 2008 to support students who are pursuing post-secondary education in geology, engineering, processing plant technology, science, technical skills or other careers related to the oil and gas industry. The scholarships are part of the oil and gas industry’s efforts to help solve growing workforce demands in North Dakota. The North Dakota Petroleum Foundation awards nine $2,000 scholarships each school year.  Recipients receive $1,000.00 for the fall semester and $1,000.00 for the spring semester.

To be ELIGIBLE for the award, students must:

Students must be a full-time student for the fall semester of 2020 and the spring semester of 2021 and must have completed ONE of the following:

  • Have at least six months work/internship experience in the oil and gas industry;
  • Have completed at least 12 hours in geology, earth science, geological/petroleum engineering, chemistry, math, or safety; or
  • Have at least a 3.0 GPA.

Applications are due June 1, 2020.




Our 2019-2020 Al Golden Memorial Scholarship Award Winners

Nikesh Acharya
Engineering, University of North Dakota

Alayna Rose Espeseth
Geology, North Dakota State University

Andrew Feist
Business Administration, Dickinson State University

Austin Karsky
Geology, North Dakota State University

Nicholas Franz Knapp
Petroleum Engineering, University of North Dakota

Bryan Knopp
Civil Engineering Technician and Land Surveying, North Dakota State College of Science

Payton Leintz
Instrumentation and Control Technology, Bismarck State College

Chioma Onwumelu
Geology PhD, University of North Dakota

Ogochukwu Ozotta
PhD Student, University of North Dakota, Geophysics Research Assistant at EERC